Gentleness vs Harshness

This is WEEK 22 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by!   

Gentle Jesus, meek and mild, Look upon a little child; Pity my simplicity, Suffer me to come to Thee.

Lamb of God, I look to Thee; Thou shalt my Example be; Thou art gentle, meek, and mild; Thou wast once a little child.

Loving Jesus, gentle Lamb, In Thy gracious hands I am; Make me, Savior, what Thou art, Live Thyself within my heart.

Gentleness means:
1. being considerate or kindly in disposition
2. mild and soft (not harsh or severe)
3.easily managed or handle; docile

Synonyms for Gentle: amiable, tender, friendly, meek, peaceful, temperate
Antonyms for Gentle: disdainful, grouchy, ill-tempered, harsh, rough

What the Bible Says about Gentleness:
Proverbs 15:1  A gentle answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger.
Phillipians 4:5 Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.
1 Peter 3:15 But in your hearts revere Christ as Lord. Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have. But do this with gentleness and respect,
Titus 3:2 to slander no one, to be peaceable and considerate, and always to be gentle toward everyone.
Ephesians 4:2 Be completely humble and gentle; be patient, bearing with one another in love.

Examples from the Bible:
Shepherds
ie David tended their flocks with gentle care.
Ruth:
gentle in her care of Naomi 
Miriam: 
gently caring for the baby Moses

The Example of Jesus to Us:
Matthew 11: 29 – 30
Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls.  For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
Mark 10: 13 – 16
People were bringing little children to Jesus for him to place his hands on them, but the disciples rebuked them.  When Jesus saw this, he was indignant.  He said to them, “Let the little children come to me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.  Truly I tell you, anyone who will not receive the kingdom of God like a little child will never enter it.”  And he took the children in his arms, placed his hands on them and blessed them.
1 Peter 2:23  
When they hurled their insults at him, he did not retaliate; when he suffered, he made no threats. Instead, he entrusted himself to him who judges justly.

Personal Thoughts and Application:
My grandmother was a kindergarten teacher and also kept children in her home.  She was great with kids because she was such a kind, gentle person.  She was gentle in her tone of voice, gentle in her touch, and she was the epitome of some one who could use gentle firmness in keeping kids in check.  I wish I could say that I was like her but sadly I do not measure up.  As a caregiver in the medical profession and having grown up with lots of animals to care for, I am a very gentle hands on person.  What I struggle with, however, is being gentle yet firm when I get upset and especially when dealing with my children.  This is an area in which God is continually working to refine my rough edges.  He is teaching me to think before I react, and to realize that my words, actions, and the tone of my voice and body language send a message….oh, how I want it to be the message of gentle strength, gentle patience, gentle firmness.  Oh, how I want to be like Jesus, the gentle Lamb of God.

Prayer for You:  May God refine your rough edges and give you the quiet strength of gentleness.  May you be able to utilize gentle firmness when necessary and realize that there is a strength in the discipline of being gentle that will help others to see Jesus reflected in you.

Additional Reading: The Strength of Gentleness:  http://www.thrivingfamily.com/Family/Faith/2011/strength-of-gentleness.aspx

 


 Photo Above: Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on June 12, 2012, in Character Series and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. This is great! I am not naturally gentle, so I am working on it too. :) I tend to be loud and opinionated, so this was such a good reminder for me. Be blessed! Lauren, lholmes79.wordpress.com

  2. Wow. I really need this word. Gentleness is something I am drawn to in my husband and something I need to develop more in myself. This was a well done post, thank you for sharing. Thanks also for your comment and visit. I will have to check in more for this series!

  1. Pingback: Meekness, gentleness… « sixbrownbears

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

