Daily Archives: August 10, 2011

My Words On Your House

Today as I was blog hopping, I found this post from  Tommy Mommy Lindsay Ferrier http://www.tommynelson.com/2011/08/he-is-always-with-us/comment-page-1/#comment-4243.  The post is about sharing God with your children in all the everyday events so they learn he is with us 24/7.  This was a great post.  It made me think of the following verses which I looked up :
“Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. 19 Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. 20 Write them on the doorframes of your houses and on your gates.” Deuteronomy 11

Verse 20 made me think about how my mom kept so many Bible verses posted up on the walls of our home.  Thanks mom for doing that!  It does make a difference when scripture is something familiar to you….when you don’t have a Bible readily available, those scriptures are on your heart and go with you everywhere.  When people visit your home, they also see those scriptures and it makes a statement : This home values God’s word.  I have some scriptures framed in my study room, but I think I am going to find some more creative ways to post some scriptures up in my home.   Ideas include: pillows with scripture on them, wall decals (there are tons of these available and they are very elegant), and maybe even some Christian framed art.  I also want to find other creative ways to teach my children scriptures in the everyday happenings.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Prayer:  May your home reflect God’s words not only in written form, but in lived out everyday life. 

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

