To Catch A Glimpse Of You Lord. (Part 1)

Many of us were raised in Church, and we know the Bible stories, the basics of all the Thou Shalts and Thou Shalt Nots, the hymns and praise songs, and are familiar with many Bible verses and passages of scripture…..but God outside of the Church building, being a real part of our everyday lives…well, that one eludes us.  Yet deep inside we long for it, that personal relationship with our Father that we hear brings peace and joy through any circumstance.  We long to experience it but we just don’t know how to take our plain vanilla lives and bedazzle them with the glory of God.

PART 1: KNOWING THAT GOD WANTS TO KNOW YOU AND MAKE HIMSELF KNOWN TO YOU – HE WANTS TO BEDAZZLE YOU WITH HIS SPLENDOR AND GLORY!
Let’s think about God’s amazing and unique power of CREATION – in fact, only God can create out of void (which is nothing, emptiness).  We are told the story of God creating this world in 6 days, and GOD SAID IT WAS VERY GOOD!  If we study the details, patterns, intricacies, and balances in God’s created world, we can’t help but see the handiwork of a Master Creator.  If we study the details and intricacies of how our human bodies are formed and function, we can’t help but see the handiwork of a Master Creator.  But do we think about the daily Creation power that God could unleash in our spiritual lives if we just gave Him opportunity, and looked for His handiwork in the everyday experiences and settings of our lives?
Do we have areas of emptiness and void in our lives?  Do we truly believe that God could take those empty and void places and do His most awesome work, creating something as only He can and making it VERY GOOD?

HOW DO WE EXPERIENCE GOD’S CREATIVE POWER?
Ask for it!  Ask for God to show you His handiwork in your life….and look for it, expect it! Don’t necessarily expect some cataclysmic earth shattering revelation or take your breath away experience necessarily, but do look for God to reveal Himself to You and to most importantly speak to you and use you.  Take time to really look at the things in your world and observe the world through God’s eyes…ask Him to give you His eyes, His perspective on life – and particularly your life.

He might use anything.  After all,He is God.  For example, he might reveal something to you through a common object such as a fence line.  What, you might ask, could a fence line reveal about God….well, to me it revealed a truth about God that served as a breakthrough in my understanding and faith one day.  I was looking at a fence line and thinking about the purpose of the fence line….it served as a barrier, a boundary marker.  I thought about something going on in my life that felt like a fence line God put up in my life.  The error of my thinking, however, was that I resented the fence line because I perceived that living the Christian life kept you from having fun and pleasures I watched others freely enjoy… I viewed God as not wanting me to have any fun.   Well, I stopped and thought about the attributes of God as revealed in His word and the Bible verse  “Delight yourself also in the Lord and He shall give you the desires of your heart, Commit your way to the Lord, Trust also in Him, and he shall bring it to pass”  Ps 37:4-5.  And God revealed to me that day that I was free to go indulge in the life on the other side of the fence but I would be walking away from His plans for Me, walking away from His will for me, walking away from intimacy with Him, walking away from His blessings on my life.  To stay with Him, meant trusting the boundaries He had put in my life.  The fence line transformed in my mind as I saw the truth of God’s character and intentions for me, and I began to look at it as a comfort, a privilege, knowing that I could remain where He was and experience His intervention in my life.  I began to want to see what God could do and in my heart I felt closer to Him that day.  I began to have a desire to stay within the boundaries because that was where God could bless me.  That was the beginning of God being able to change my perspective, and unleash His creative power in that area of my life.   I know that I can’t, but He can…He can create right thinking and desires in me as I yield to His handiwork in my life.

Open your eyes and look for God revealing Himself to you in any aspect of the world around you and a new excitement can take place!  Look for him to reveal where you may have wrong thinking about life, or your thinking and perspective about Him may be in error and ask Him to reveal his true character to you so that you can trust Him more and feel more connected to Him.   You too could have a conversation with God about a fence line or something just as ordinary that transforms your own unique and personal relationship with Him and bedazzles your day with a glimpse of His glory and His love for you.

Prayer For Your Unique Experience of Knowing God: May God open your eyes to the glimpses of Him in the common everyday things, settings, places, people and events of your plain vanilla life. May He add the creative bedazzle of His glory and His love to your understanding and intimate relationship with Him.  May you awaken each day excited that God can create something new into your world, reveal something special to you, and meet you anywhere, anytime, and use anything to reveal Himself to you.

Images Above courtesy of:  Copyright (c) <a href=’http://www.123rf.com’>123RF Stock Photos</a>
 

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on September 10, 2011, in Living the Christian Life, Ponderings, Spiritual and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The fence line analogy is so perfect – we were not created for what lies on the otherside. But what I loved most is your discussion about taking God our relationship with God outside of Sunday worship and letting him walk beside us throughout the week. I try to hard to encourage my sons to have “relationship” with God during their day – to seek Him out, talk to Him, pray and pray for those around them that have needs!

  2. Such good advice – God can use anything to teach us and sometimes in the busyness of life, it can be hard to remember to keep our hearts always open to Him

  3. I am very inspired to bedazzle my plain vanilla life! Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. Great advice! I am actively looking around for the small things in life the Lord uses to teach me lessons. I’ve recently learned how interruptions are always an opportunity to allow the Lord to show His kindness, grace and patience toward another through me. I’ve never been a fan of interruptions and have always lived by a strict daily schedule so this has certainly been new…but I am incredibly blessed by the lesson.

  1. Pingback: Alertness vs Being Unaware «

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

