Availability vs Being Selfcentered

This is WEEK 3 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by.

“To the world you may just be someone, but to someone you may be the whole world.”

In this busy, busy world it is hard to be a steward of your 24 hours without crumbling into a broken, burned out heap at the end of the day.  But God asks you to be available, and needs you  to be available…because He may have a purpose that He needs fulfilled….a purpose just for you.  We should strive to be AVAILABLE vs Self-centered. 

AVAILABILITY means:
1. having a beneficial effect  
2. present or ready for immediate use  
3.qualified or willing to do something or assume a responsibility.

Synonyms for Available:  accessible, on hand, offered, prepared, usable
Antonyms for Available:  not accessible,  unavailable,untouchable, inaccessible

What the Bible says about Being Available.
Matt 4:18-22  ,  18 As Jesus was walking beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw two brothers, Simon called Peter and his brother Andrew. They were casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen. 19 “Come, follow me,” Jesus said,“and I will send you out to fish for people.” 20 At once they left their nets and followed him. 21 Going on from there, he saw two other brothers, James son of Zebedee and his brother John. They were in a boat with their father Zebedee, preparing their nets. Jesus called them, 22 and immediately they left the boat and their father and followed him.

Luke 18 : 15-16 5 And they were bringing even their babies to Him so that He would touch them, but when the disciples saw it, they began rebuking them. 16 But Jesus called for them, saying, “Permit the children to come to Me, and do not hinder them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.

Isaiah 6:8   8 Then I heard the voice of the Lord, saying, “Whom shall I send, and who will go for Us?” Then I said, “Here am I. Send me!”

1 Peter 4:10  Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others,  faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms.

Examples From The Bible:
Rahab, spy for the Israelites  : Joshua 2
The Story of Queen Esther
Mary, Mother of Jesus

 The Example of Jesus to Us: 
Jesus is the epitome of Available.  He is the Great High Priest that allows us to always be immediately and eternally connected to God.  No longer do we have to make sacrifices, and have a Priest access the inner Temple on our behalf.  In Jesus, we have direct access to the throne of God.   Jesus made himself available as God who came to Earth in human form to be the sacrifice for our sins, and to personally connect with us, and teach us of God’s love for us.   How easy it is to take for granted that at any time, any place, and in any circumstance….Jesus says Come, Child, Come as you are.  I am here for you.

Personal Application and Thoughts:
Have you ever been so engrossed in something that you are doing….whether work or enjoyment, that someone says something to you and you half way acknowledge them, but then later realize you didn’t hear or don’t remember a word they said.   Well, that was a moment of selfishness and self-absorption.  In those moments, of which I am guilty of, I have learned to acknowledge it and go to that person and just admit….I’m sorry, I didn’t pay attention to you.  Would you tell me again.  I need to make a point of stopping what I am doing and make eye contact, and give full attention to someone if I can.  If I need them to wait until I can get to a stopping point with what I am doing, then I need to politely communicate that.  I need to view the “interruptions” of life with less irritation, and look at them more as opportunities to be of value to someone, or to help with something….perhaps even to fulfill some purpose that God has for me.  I need to be able to keep myself available to hear God speak to me and to teach me…..I need to look for Him to connect with me.  I need to strive each day to die more to self and to my selfishness through the character trait of being available and usable.   I need to be mindful, however, of not confusing busyness with usefulness.  I need to say “No” when I know it’s too much, because it’s easy to overstretch and become overwhelmed.  I need to learn how to balance my time and my resources so that I can be available to the full capacity God needs me to be .

Other References:
Being Available  http://wendybender.blogspot.com/2011/08/being-available.html 
Some interesting and unusual ways others chose to be available and usable in life.  Help others.org

PRAYER FOR YOU:  May you learn to die to self more and more each day as you lay down your life a living sacrifice.  May you find joy in being available for God to use to bless another’s life.  May you cherish the special privilege of having 24/7 access to the Father, and seek Him often.

Picture Above:  Image: photostock / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

 

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Character Series, Living the Christian Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

