Dependable versus Inconsistent

This is WEEK 11 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by.  
Dependability means: 
1.worthy of trust and belief  2. being a good investment  3. consistent and reliable

When a Man’s Word Was As Good as A Gilt-Edged Note  (from the University of Texas Press – Trail Drivers of Texas)
Taking the advice of Jake Ellison, in 1867 I decided to go into the cattle business. I had no money, but the people let me take their cattle on credit…When we reached Gainesville my money was all gone… I was a perfect stranger there, and did not know a man in the town. I went into George Howell’s store, told Mr. Howell my circumstances, and asked if he could credit me for what I needed. He looked me straight in the eye for a few seconds and said he would do so. And he didn’t ask for a mortgage or a note or anything to hold me bound except my word to pay.   —By George N. Steen, Bryan, Texas


Synonyms
for Dependability: certain, constant, faithful, loyal, secure, stable, trustworthy
Antonyms for Dependability:   dishonest, irresponsible, uncertain, unreliable

What the Bible Says About Dependability:
Proverbs 31:11  her husband doth safely trust in her
Deuteronomy 7:9  Know therefore that the LORD your God is God; he is the faithful God, keeping his covenant of love to a thousand generations of those who love him and keep his commands.
1 corinthians 4:2  Now it is required that those who have been given a trust must prove faithful.
1 John 2:5-6 But whoever keeps his word, in him truly the love of God is perfected. By this we may know that we are in him: whoever says he abides in him ought to walk in the same way in which he walked.

Examples From the Bible:
NOAH – Genesis 7:1  And the LORD said unto Noah, Come thou and all thy house into the ark; for thee have I seen righteous before me in this generation.
MOSES – Numbers 12:7   But this is not true of my servant Moses; he is faithful in all my house.
DAVID & SOLOMON – 1 Kings 11:38 If you do whatever I command you and walk in my ways and do what is right in my eyes by keeping my statutes and commands, as David my servant did, I will be with you. I will build you a dynasty as enduring as the one I built for David and will give Israel to you.
TIMOTHY:  1 Cor 4:17  For this cause have I sent unto you Timotheus, who is my beloved son, and faithful <4103> in the Lord, who shall bring you into remembrance of my ways which be in Christ, as I teach every where in every church.

The Example of Jesus to Us:
God depended on Jesus to be the sacrificial lamb that would take away the sins of the world.  The magnitude of this task is beyond our comprehension.  Jesus sweated blood because of the tremendous stress of carrying through with such a task, physically and spiritually.  But, he remained faithful..Luke 22:42  Saying, Father, if thou be willing, remove this cup from me: nevertheless not my will, but thine, be done.  He completed the task that only He could do and then he declared it as finished. John 19:30  When Jesus therefore had received the vinegar, he said, It is finished: and he bowed his head, and gave up the ghost.

Personal Thoughts and Application:
The days of someone giving a stranger credit based on his word alone may long be passed, but if you are a Christian, your word should still be something dependable and trusthworthy.  
How dependable are you?  How good is your word?  If you make a promise to someone, do you keep it, even if it becomes an inconvenience to do so?  Do you honor your contracts and fulfill your commitments to others.  Do you keep appointments, and complete tasks?  Can your spouse depend on you to help out, to communicate, to be trustworthy?  Do you perform your work duties timely, efficiently, and thoroughly.
How dependable are you to God?  Do you pursue a personal relationship with Him, seeking His will , and trying to apply it to your life?  Do you strive to honor Him, whether in the midst of other believers or in the midst of those who are worldly?
Could God call your Name and say …..like ____________, who I find dependable ?

Prayer For You:  May you value the dependability and honor of your Word.  May you strive to be a person others can count on, and may they see in you, a consistency of character and commitment.    May you desire to be a person that God can count on to be faithful, to persevere, and to finish the tasks He has planned for you.


Other Resources:
All that was needed was a handshake.   http://www.downyonderantiques.com/Reflections/Reflections003.htm

 

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on March 20, 2012, in Character Series and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

