Determination versus Faintheartedness

This is WEEK 12 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by. 
Thomas Edison: In his early years, teachers told Edison he was “too stupid to learn anything.” Work was no better, as he was fired from his first two jobs for not being productive enough. Even as an inventor, Edison made 1,000 unsuccessful attempts at inventing the light bulb. Of course, all those unsuccessful attempts finally resulted in the design that worked.
We should strive to have determination and not be fainthearted. 

DETERMINATION means:
1.firmness of purpose; resolution

2. perseverance

Synonyms for Determination:  boldness, bravery, constancy, conviction, dedication, steadfastness
Antonyms for Determination:  hesitation, doubt, inconsistency, wavering

What the Bible says about Being Determination:
1 Cor 9:24  
Do you not know that in a race all the runners run, but only one gets the prize? Run in such a way as to get the prize.|

Galatians 1:10   Am I now trying to win the approval of men, or of God? Or am I trying to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a servant of Christ.
Galatians 6:9  Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.
Hebrews 12:1-2  Therefore, since we are surrounded by such a great cloud of witnesses, let us throw off everything that hinders and the sin that so easily entangles, and let us run with perseverance the race marked out for us. Let us fix our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of our faith, who for the joy set before him endured the cross, scorning its shame, and sat down at the right hand of the throne of God.
1 Timothy 6:12  Fight the good fight of the faith. Take hold of the eternal life to which you were called when you made your good confession in the presence of many witnesses.
2 Timothy 4:7  I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith
Psalm 27:14  Wait for the LORD; be strong and take heart and wait for the LORD.
Examples From The Bible:
Noah
and the Ark
David
and Goliath
Joshua
and the march around Jericho
Jacob
working and waiting to make Rachel his wife
Job
persevering in his sufferings

The Example of Jesus to Us: 
Jesus came to this Earth in human form to accomplish the work and will of his Father.  His whole life is permeated with that purpose.  He came, he persevered, and he fulfilled this purpose.
Luke 2: 49  
“Why were you searching for me?” he asked. “Didn’t you know I had to be in my Father’s house?”

John 5:17  Jesus said to them, “My Father is always at his work to this very day, and I, too, am working.”
John 4:34 “My food,” said Jesus, “is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.
John 5:36 But I have a greater testimony than that of John: for the works which the Father hath given me to perfect; the works themselves, which I do, give testimony of me, that the Father hath sent me.
John 10:18 No man taketh it away from me: but I lay it down of myself, and I have power to lay it down: and I have power to take it up again. This commandment have I received of my Father.
John 17:1 These things Jesus spoke, and lifting up his eyes to heaven, he said: Father, the hour is come, glorify thy Son, that thy Son may glorify thee.
 

Personal Application and Thoughts:
As my mom used to say….“If life were easy for Christians and they did not have to suffer through the trials of this world, then everyone would want to be a Christian”.
  Being a Christian does not mean we will have it easy…in contrast, God says….In this world you WILL have trials and tribulations.  But he also says to take heart because He has overcome the world and our suffering and adversities can serve a divine purpose.   When life is not fair, and when we feel beat down by circumstances….God is there, and He sees us.  He knows what we are going through and he promises to give us strength to endure.  He asks us to persevere and not give up and he promises blessings on us for staying the course.  Whether it’s working on an invention like Edison, or persevering in a difficult life situation….good can still come out of the failures.  When we fail as Christians to walk in the righteousness He calls us to….remember too, that His grace is sufficient.  Dust off the grime of defeat and failure, surrender to the Father’s will, and press on.

PRAYER FOR YOU: May you look to God as the source of your strength and determination.  May you not let failures stop you in your tracks.  May you always trust, always hope, and always press on.
Other References:  http://www.onlinecollege.org/2010/02/16/50-famously-successful-people-who-failed-at-first/

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on March 29, 2012, in Character Series and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

