Ponderings: Perspective

On Fridays at The Gypsy Mama , a group of people who love to throw caution to the wind and just write gather to share what five minutes buys them. Just five minutes. Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Today’s Topic:  PERSPECTIVE 

“It’s All About Perspective” is a saying that I grew up hearing.  The glass 1/2 full vs the glass 1/2 empty is a good example of how the way one’s mind views a situation and responds to a situation is affected by the perspective that individual CHOOSES to have.  There is a lot of research about how our body chemistry is even affected by whether or not we choose to have positive thoughts and outlooks on life or to be negative, pessimistic and defeated in our outlook.
I know a person who has a tendency to get upset quickly over the silliest things.  Comments like “It’s always happens to me”, ” I can’t win for losing”, “I don’t know why I bother to try” frequent this person’s dialogue.  They take offense easily too and quickly jump to the conclusion that people are against them, don’t like them, etc.  As a person on the outside looking in, I see the unnecessary stress and anxiety that goes with this kind of thinking and sometimes I feel the anxiety beginning to make me feel uneasy too.
Instead, I want to strive to be a person that puts a CHECK on any negative thinking that pops into my brain. I want to change it to positive thinking, yet realistic of course. It is often a prayer that I pray before I walk into work each morning. “Lord, give me your perspective.  Help me see people as you see them and respond to them as you would desire.”

 

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on May 18, 2012, in Ponderings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Good prayer, for great perspective. Yes, the constant negative statements can get very wearing. A positively blessed day to you today!

  2. … love that glass 1/2 full illustration …. so many of us view life pessimistically, ungratefully. thanks for the recalibration!

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

