Flexibility vs Resistance

This is WEEK 19 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by!

Let no one think that flexibility and a predisposition to compromise is a sign of weakness or a sell-out.  -Paul Kagame

The boldness of asking deep questions may require unforeseen flexibility if we are to accept the answers. -Brian Greene

Stay committed to your decisions, but stay flexible in your approach. - Tony Robbins

Flexibility means:
1. Capable of being bent or flexed; pliable
2. Responsive to change; adaptable

Synonyms for Flexibility: adjustability, pliability, adaptability
Antonyms for Flexibility: constraint, inflexibility, resistance, rigidity

What the Bible says about Flexibility:
Ecclesiastes 3:1 To everything there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven:
Proverbs 8:38 Blessed is the one who listens to me, watching daily at my gates, waiting beside my doors.
1 John 2: 15 – 17 Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, love for the Father is not in them. For everything in the world—the lust of the flesh, the lust of the eyes, and the pride of life—comes not from the Father but from the world. The world and its desires pass away, but whoever does the will of God lives forever.

Examples from the Bible:
Philip: was sent to witness to the Ethiopian (Acts 8:26-40)
Abraham:  Went and traveled wherever the Lord sent him.|
the Magi:  warned in a dream to not return via Herod’s land but go another route home.
Paul: considered his trials and imprisonments as furthering the cause of Christ and accepted his circumstances.

The Example of Jesus to Us:
Jesus challenged the ritualistic and self-righteous teachings of that time.  He wanted people to get to know God and apply the heart of God to situations versus just blindly follow rules and regulations.  His disciples were called to a life of great dedication and flexibility.
Mark 2:27  And he said to them, “The Sabbath was made for man, not man for the Sabbath.
Mark 1: 16-18  As Jesus walked beside the Sea of Galilee, he saw Simon and his brother Andrew casting a net into the lake, for they were fishermen.  “Come, follow me, ” Jesus said, “and I will send you out to fish for people.”  At once they left their nets and followed him.

Personal Thoughts and Application:
I used to be a gymnast so flexibility was an easy must for me as I was growing up.  What came much harder for me was being flexible in my thinking and in my approach to situations, people and life in general.   I have always tried to be structured, disciplined, and organized.  I always have a plan!  It can be very upsetting and overwhelming to me when I feel like my plans run amuck, or I have to compromise and accommodate others.  It has been good for me to be challenged to grow my mental and spiritual flexibility and I am thankful that God has put such opportunities in my life.
My job is an everyday circus demanding flexibility.  I start out with a schedule to follow but by mid-day I am usually on Plan B, C or D versions  of that original schedule.  I have to accommodate patients, schedule conflicts, co-workers, and myriad other uncontrollable variables.  I absolutely have to depend on God to help me stay sane in the midst of the chaos.  
Spiritually God has also challenged me to be flexible as well.  I have learned that there is excitement in letting God challenge my thinking, my perspectives, and maybe even lifelong rigid beliefs so that He can show me truth and bring me closer in my intimacy and understanding of Him.  He has also taught me how to love people who are not exactly the same in the way they were raised, or in their belief or value systems.  He has taught me how to look beyond differences and see the beauty and special qualities of that person.
I believe flexibility is something we must exercise everyday to truly be used by God.

Prayer For You:  May God teach you to break away from the rigid thinking and behaviors that keep you from seeking or understanding His truths.  Through flexibility of mind, body and spirit may you enjoy a rewarding life that honors Him.

 Image Above:  Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on May 22, 2012, in Character Series and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

