Obedience vs Willfulness

This is WEEK 32 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by!  

When we learn to say a deep, passionate yes to the things that really matter… then peace begins to settle onto our lives like golden sunlight sifting to a forest floor.  – Thomas Kinkade

The true follower of Christ will not ask, “If I embrace this truth, what will it cost me?” Rather he will say, “This is truth. God help me to walk in it, let come what may!”  – A. W. Tozer

Knowing that we are fulfilling God’s purpose is the only thing that really gives rest to the restless human heart.  – Charles (Chuck) Colson

Obedience means:
1. Compliance with someone’s wishes or orders or acknowledgement of their authority
2. submission to a law or rule

Synonyms for Obedience: compliance, conformity, willingness, submission
Antonyms for Obedience: disobedience, misbehavior, mutiny, rebellion

What the Bible Says About Obedience: 
Exodus 19:5 Now therefore, if you will obey my voice indeed, and keep my covenant, then you shall be a peculiar treasure to me above all people: for all the earth is mine:
2 Corinthians 10:5 Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalts itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;
Ephesians 6:1 Children, obey your parents in the Lord: for this is right.
Ephesians 6:6 Not with eye-service, as men pleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart;
1 John 5:2 By this we know that we love the children of God, when we love God, and keep his commandments.
Proverbs 14:12 There is a way which seemeth right unto a man, but the end thereof are the ways of death.

Examples From The Bible:
Noah
: obeyed God and built the ark

Moses: obeyed God and confronted Pharoah
Abraham: obeyed God and prepared to sacrifice Isaac
The Disciples: obeyed God and spread the Gospel to all the Earth (many became martyrs for the cause)

The Example of Jesus To Us:
Jesus was obedient unto death praying  Luke 22:42 “Father, if you are willing, take this cup from me; yet not my will, but yours be done.”

Matthew 7:21 Not every one that said to me, Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of heaven; but he that does the will of my Father which is in heaven.
John 14:21 He that has my commandments, and keeps them, he it is that loves me: and he that loves me shall be loved of my Father, and I will love him, and will manifest myself to him.
John 15:9 As the Father has loved me, so have I loved you: continue you in my love.

Personal Thoughts and Application:
Trust and Obey……To truly trust, you must believe in the sovereignty of God.
 All that God asks of us is to trust and obey, because He knows the past, the present, the future, the in/outs, the purposes He has for us and what is for our ultimate good.  When we trust and obey, we move closer to God in relationship and He can then work in our lives and bless us.   When we choose to go our own way and follow our own willful desires, then He lets us go…..but the path we tread becomes a spiral path, and keeps us from moving further down the road He wants us to walk.  Take a look at a spiral and see how it circles in on itself….that becomes the path we tread and eventually it comes to it’s own demise or end.  Spirals are a tool God uses, however to make us more Christlike, because we must come to the end of ourselves…our own strength, our own wrong passions and pursuits to find that the answer is not there, and to realize that we need God.   I believe that the closer to God we grow, the less spiral pathways we stall out on and if we do pursue them, perhaps we don’t have to go quite as far before we turn back to the right path and align our wills with God’s will.   We are all different, and we all have areas of our lives that we will struggle with obedience in…and we all will have our spirals to be rescued from.   How wonderful that we have the tools we need…God’s word, God’s spirit, direct access through prayer, and of course, we have each other.  We each can daily die to self and choose to lay down our wills at the feet of God who will remove our burdens and guide, and direct us in the path we should go.


Prayer For You:  May you stay on the straight and narrow but blessed path that leads to closer relationship with God.  May you obey with a willing and grateful heart as you realize that God is a loving, caring God who wants the best for you.  May you be able to trust in His sovereignty with all of your heart and know that even the struggles and hard times serve a divine purpose.  May you recognize the spirals that trap you when you try to pursue your own will over God’s.

Image credit: rozaliya / 123RF Stock Photo

 

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on September 4, 2012, in Character Series and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Liked the title a lot and had to read through it. Obedience is willfulness, but a will bent to God’s. And it always costs. Obedience, by its nature, insists we do something we don’t want to do, and your examples illustrate that perfectly. That’s why the trust is so necessary. Was just reading in On Your Heart Tuesday about God’s admonition to pick up the bowl and towel. It’s all the same message. Trust and obey.

  2. I’m in a period of trying to let go and let God. It’s tough and scary..sometimes I worry what it will cost of me, what will he ask of me? Will I be able to handle it? God wants me to get to a point of trusting regardless of the cost, I’m getting there, slowly.

    • That leap of faith is quite scary….I’ve been there myself. That question…Do I REALLY believe? Does God REALLY have my best interests at heart? Obedience is not an easy road to navigate, BUT it is worth it. My advice, embrace a daily relationship with God and reflect on His love for you, His divine wisdom, and His abundant mercy and grace. Take that leap….and let Him carry you.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

