Security vs Anxiety

This is WEEK 40 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by!

Nothing can bring a real sense of security into the home except true love. –Billy Graham

“Where does your security lie? Is God your refuge, your hiding place, your stronghold, your shepherd, your counselor, your friend, your redeemer, your saviour, your guide? If He is, you don’t need to search any further for security.” ― Elisabeth Elliot

That the birds of worry and care fly over you head, this you cannot change, but that they build nests in your hair, this you can prevent.  ~Chinese Proverb

Do not be afraid of tomorrow; for God is already there.  ~Author Unknown

Security means:
1. Freedom from danger or threat

2. freedom from care, anxiety, or doubt; well-foundedconfidence.

Synonyms for Security: safety, protection, cover, refuge
Antonyms
for Security: danger, insecurity, peril, trouble

What the Bible Says About Security:
Deut 33:27
The eternal God is your refuge, and underneath are the everlasting arms: and He shall thrust out the enemy from before you; and shall say, “Destroy them.”

Psalm 23:4 Yes, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for You are with me; your rod and your staff they comfort me.
Proverbs 18:10 The name of the Lord is a strong tower: the righteous run into it, and are safe.
Isaiah 41:10 Fear not; for I am with you: be not dismayed; for I am your God: I will strengthen you; yes I will help you; yes I will uphold you with the right hand of My righteousness.
Hebrews 13:5-6 For He has said, “I will never leave you, nor forsake you.” So that we may boldly say, “TheLord is my Helper,” and I will not fear what man shall do to me. 

Examples From The Bible:
David: (Psalm 16:8) 
I have set the Lord always before me: because He is at my right hand, I shall not be moved.  Davis wrote the Psalms, which are full of verses about God being the security of  the believer.

Daniel: (Daniel 6) The Story of Daniel in the Lion’s Den
Moses: (Exodus 14)
The Parting Of The Red Sea
Joshua: (Joshua 6)
The Fall of the Walls of Jericho

The Example of Jesus To Us:
Matt 10: 29 -31
 Are not two sparrows sold for a farthing? One of them shall not fall on the ground apart from your Father’s will. But the very hairs of your head are numbered. Fear you not therefore, you are of more value than many sparrows.

John 10:28 -29 And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of My hand. My Father, which gave them to Me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of My Father’s hand.

Personal Thoughts and Application:
Have you ever heard the song by Sting with the lyric line How Fragile We Are?  I think that deep down, no matter how strong or mighty or powerful we are in the world’s view, each individual knows deep down how fragile they are.  Because we are human, we have needs and we are consequently dependent.   Unmet needs or the uncertainty of future needs being met can create anxiety.  Humans therefore turn to someone or something for security. This often means relying on possessions, wealth, positions of power, self-reliance, graven images, religion, cults, etc.  I believe that God intentionally made us dependent, and He wants us to realize that He is the only One who can meet our deepest needs.  The Bible is full of God’s call for His children to turn to Him and Him alone for their security.  He wants us TO REST IN HIM!  That requires a lot of obedience, trust and faith but God promises to never leave us or abandon us.  He also promises to bring about what is best for us and what glorifies Him.  So when you are feeling how fragile you are, go to the Father, and let Him cover you with his wings and let Him be the One you place your trust and security in.

PRAYER FOR YOU:  May you realize your need for God to be the One true source of you security.  May you be comforted in knowing that you can  “cast all your cares on Him for He cares for You.”  May you view your weaknesses and fragility as a reminder of how much He wants You to turn to Him for your strength and security.


Additional Reading:
Overcoming Insecurity In A Woman’s Life   http://www.secureinheart.com/scriptures_on_insecurity.htm
Scriptures For The Journey http://www.persevering.org/scriptures.html
Security vs Anxiety http://www.charactercouncil.org/resources/biblicalstudies/Security.pdf

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on October 29, 2012, in Character Series and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Your Character blogs are fantastic. They will be so helpful in a new movement I have begun entitled Kids Unlimited. You can check it out at kidsunlimitedcalifornia.com

    Thanks for your GREAT efforts in character development!

    • I am so glad that the character series has been helpful and is being used to minister. The development of character in young kids is invaluable. Your website is wonderful, and I wish you God’s blessings on your ministry.

  1. Pingback: FEAR NO EVIL! « "Working for Christ"

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

