Thriftiness vs Extravagance

This is WEEK 45 of the Character Development Series I am doing for 2012.  So glad you stopped by!  13114979_s

“Beware of little expenses; a small leak will sink a great ship”–Benjamin Franklin

“Being frugal does not mean being cheap! It means being economical and avoiding waste.” –Catherine Pulsifer

“Thrift…is more than the mere practice of saving money: it implies rather a denunciation of every form of waste, not only of money, but of time, energy, talents, and other assets of mankind.” ~ ‘World Thrift Day,’ The Times, October 26, 1938.

Thriftiness means:
1. wisely economical
2.industrious and thriving; prosperous

Synonyms for Thrifty: frugal, conserving, prudent, careful
Antonyms for Thrifty: extravagant, wasteful, careless

What the Bible Says About Being Thrifty:
Proverbs 6:6-8 
Go to the ant, sluggard; consider her ways and be wise; who having no guide, overseer, or ruler, provides her food in the summer and gathers her food in the harvest.

Proverbs 10:4 Poor is he who works with a negligent hand, but the hand of the diligent makes rich.
Proverbs 12:11 He who tills his land will have plenty of bread, but he who pursues worthless things lacks sense.

Examples From The Bible:
2 Kings 4:1-7 A  faithful woman in hard circumstances seeks counsel from Elisha and God provides from what she has.
Matthew 25:14-30 Jesus tells the story of the 5 talents and how God expects us to be good stewards and investors of our resources.
Genesis 41:34-36 Joseph assists Pharaoh by preparing during the years before the famine so that they have provision in time of need.

The Example of Jesus To Us:
Luke 14:28-30 For which of you, intending to build a tower, does not sit down first and count the cost, whether he may have enough to finish it; lest perhaps, after he has laid the foundation and is not able to finish, all those seeing begin to mock him, saying, This man began to build and was not able to finish.
Luke 16:10 He who is faithful in a very little thing is faithful also in much; and he who is unrighteous in a very little thing is unrighteous also in much.
Mark 8:36 For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world, and forfeit his soul?

Personal Thoughts And Application:
I am a person who has known 2 sides of the financial coin:  living in a nice house with enough $ to pay may bills, care for my family and put some toward my future……and also I have known having to make very little go a very long way.
College:  My parents were going through a divorce, and I moved 4 hours away to the big city of Atlanta to go to college.  I had no where to live and no car when I left, but I left on faith and God provided.  He didn’t make it easy for me, but he did open doors for me to have a place to live.  I bummed rides or rode Marta and I lived off sandwiches and typical poor college groceries.  By the 2nd year, I had a car borrowed from my Dad and an apartment with room mates, but $ was still very tight.

After College: I was able to secure a good job, but became newly married within 6 months and my husband was still in college.  Between us we had 4 student loans to pay back and we were very much ON OUR OWN financially.  We had our first baby within the 2nd year, followed by my husband being in a plane crash.  By end of year 2, we were still paying school loans, had credit card debt and medical bills to pay off.   REALITY CHECK:  It was time to sink or swim for us.
 Fortunately, we pulled together, and worked hard to get out of credit card debt,  and to pay off our school loans and medical bills.  Today,we don’t live on as tight of a budget as we did back then, but we do live on a budget, and we do still work as a team as far as our finances are concerned.  We stay out of credit card debt, and we plan for future expenses and unknowns.  It is not full proof, and of course we worry that some day we will find ourselves having to live off peanut butter and jelly again, but at least we know that we can. I am actually very thankful for my college years because it taught me to value being thrifty and having to make a little stretch a long way.  I believe that God honors our efforts even when we make mistakes or endure difficult circumstances.  If we acknowledge our mistakes and learn from them, I believe that God will help us in our efforts to turn things around.

PRAYER FOR YOU:  May you take stock of your current situation and ask God to help you utilize your resources to improve your financial circumstances, and to be a good steward.  May you have the discipline and wisdom to know when and how to be thrifty, and to not let extravagant indulgences become a hindrance and hardship in your future.Lizzie black

Additional Reading:
http://beingfrugal.net/christian-perspective-lessons-from-the-ant/
http://www.ecothriftyliving.com/2012/05/10-top-tips-for-being-thrifty-and.html
http://love2upcycle.blogspot.com/2012/05/thrifty-thursday-20-thrifty-blogs-2.html
LivingWellfff1

 

 

Image Above: Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on December 6, 2012, in Character Series and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great Post! God has commanded us to be good stewards! 😉 what a great priviledge and responsability! thanks for sharing! I’m visiting from Beholding Glory! I blog at http://www.womanhoodwithpurpose.com

  2. Very helpful… Just last night God said to me, “Live Frugally”. So, in learning just what that meant, I did a search and found your insights… Thank you for sharing! I have included them in my personal journal, along with your blog site, so that I can contemplate upon them and learn from you. And now, as I say this, if that is inappropriate, please let me know and I will erase them.. It will only be for my use, not for any printed profit of any kind. Again, if that is a problem, just let me know! And again, Thank You! I have a much better understanding of His intent for us.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

