Every Thought

WISDOM IS: TAKING EVERY THOUGHT CAPTIVE125ml_panelled_food_jar
2 Corinthians 10:5   Casting down imaginations, and every high thing that exalteth itself against the knowledge of God, and bringing into captivity every thought to the obedience of Christ;

There was a time in my life that I let bitterness, hurt, and anger so poison my thinking that I could no longer see God at work in my life or trust Him in my circumstances.  A dear Christian counselor challenged me to take 30 days and get all secular influence possible out of my thinking and focus on positive thinking…focus on God.  I took that challenge and turned off my TV, my secular music and my negative thinking.  As a replacement, I listened to Christian music, read Christian books, studied my Bible and prayed.  My great challenge:  to make a decision about what my faith was really anchored to.  Did I really trust that God could work in ALL circumstances.  Did I really believe that God was sovereign and at work in my life? 

The Result:  30 days of struggle as I took EVERY thought captive…..and examined it.  At first I was overwhelmed with doubt and confusion, but by the middle of the challenge, the toxic poison began to clear and what I kept…well, that made all the difference.  I kept the thinking that God wants us to hold on to…
Philippians 4:8  Finally, brothers and sisters, whatever is true, whatever is noble, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is admirable—if anything is excellent or praiseworthy—think about such things.

After the 30 days:  I relaxed the strict limitations because, well, I don’t want to be in a monastery or live as a nun…and I don’t think God expects us to.  However, I was never the same.  Secular songs, and TV , etc.  just don’t wrap their poison into my mindset anymore.  I can see the contrast now of Godly thinking and spiritual values and the void of Godless thinking that pervades a secular world view.  I choose to stay focused on the spiritual mindset and be in the world but not of the world.  As Christians we have the mind of Christ within us, but we must continue to take every thought captive…keep the right thinking and let the negative or destructive thinking vaporize away.

A CHALLENGE:  Take 30 DAYS and TAKE EVERY THOUGHT CAPTIVE.  Strictly limit secular thinking and influence and saturate yourself with Godly, spiritual thinking.  Pray your way through your day and make a conscious effort to come near to God and connect with Him.  Quickly dissipate any negative thinking about your life circumstances as soon as the thought pervades and pray about it.  Ask God to change your thinking, to help you trust Him and to know that He is in control of your circumstances whatever they are.  See if your thinking is permanently changed after the 30 days and keep up the vigilance of taking every thought captive….so you can be free.

PRAYER FOR YOU:  May you find success in the discipline of taking every thought captive and may it draw you closer to God.  May you gain control of your thought life as you allow God to become the focus of your perspective and may you see a God that you can trust earnestly at work in ALL circumstances of your life.

Lizzie black
fffbutton_zps81cbecd6-1_zps4abb6b5bLivingWell

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on January 22, 2013, in Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

