To See The Roses

Wisdom is: Seeking to surround yourself with what promotes a positive outlook and provides inspiration to go forward.1360454465_Red_and_Silver_12

“The optimist sees the rose and not its thorns; the pessimist stares at the thorns, oblivious to the rose.” (Kahill Giban)

How often do you have a looming task or project that is difficult to face because it has prickly, unpleasant aspects?  It may be a self-improvement goal, a work related or home related project.  Your heart is in the right place because you want to put your best effort into the project, but it’s hard to feel good about it or motivated.  Let’s face it…..sometimes it’s hard to enjoy the roses because of the thorns.

I believe that God wants us to be intentional and proactive in this life.  Sometimes we have to get our focus off the thorns, or the negative aspects of the project and find ways to put inspiration into our world.  What has helped me is to realize that I need visual motivation.  I need something that catches me eye and is literally in my face everyday.  My solution: to put my inspiration on my computer screen because I know I will look at it at a minimum of once a day and probably many times in a day if I’m honest.

Each month this year, I have found something to use as my background screen that will remind me to stay focused and inspired to reach my goals or complete an important task.  It also reminds me to pray for God’s help and guidance so that I’m not trying to just achieve something in my own strength.

For January, I used the following image:White Rabbit
I was seeking to focus on my time management and particularly trying to focus on getting more hours of sleep.  Averaging 4 -5 hours of sleep a night is not healthy you know.  The rabbit pointing to a large clock was a great reminder for me.

For February, I used a more romantic image: Love wallpaper hd 4
February is the month of my Anniversary as well as Valentine’s Day.  It was the perfect month to focus on my marriage relationship.

For the month of March, I have chosen a spring oriented image:co121022112341-0
Spring comes early and is short lived in the deep South.  This is the time of year I begin focusing on Spring Cleaning and preparing for outdoor work as well.  There is plenty of work which is not fun to think about, so I chose an image that shows the payoffs.  The flower beds will need sprucing, and my kids love to start growing seedlings inside.  This year I am starting a small vegetable garden as well and some of those seedlings have been planted inside.  Already, we have sunflowers poking their green stems out of the earth and I am excited, and yes….inspired.

For April…..well, I don’t know yet nor will I concern myself with that for now.  You see, I will wait and seek the Lord for direction at that time and let Him speak to my heart about what I need to focus on and how to stay inspired.  Hope you do the same.

1 Chronicles 16:11  Seek the LORD and his strength;  seek his presence continually!.

Isaiah 41:10  fear not, for I am with you;  be not dismayed, for I am your God; I will strengthen you, I will help you,  I will uphold you with my righteous right hand.

I hope my idea sheds some inspiration for your inspiration…. but you may find other ideas that work better for you.  Some examples include: posting something on your bathroom mirror, at your work desk, your kitchen window, or your phone screen.  You may be inspired audibly better than visually and listen to something recorded while in your car or while enjoying lunch.  Your imagination really is your only limit…..just find something that works for you and let the inspiration take your focus off the thorns……and fill your world with roses.

PRAYER FOR YOU: May you find ways to be inspired and seek to focus on the roses in your life vs the thorns.  May you daily seek God’s help in all your endeavors and let Him be the one to guide your progress.
Lizzie black

fffbutton_zps81cbecd6-1_zps4abb6b5b

LivingWell

Flowers above: http://www.feistaflowers.com

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. What a great idea! I’ve never thought to do that. I need visual reminders too, so this would be most helpful for me 🙂

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

