The Right Choice

Wisdom is Making The Right Choice!14746177_s

Why Do The Right Thing?
*For Recognition?
*To Ease Your Conscience?
*To Look Good?
*To Gain Favor?
*To Look Superior?
*To Earn Brownie Points?
*To Get Into Heaven?
How Do You Think God Would View These Reasons? 

Let’s Admit:  It’s easy to do the right thing when it’s easy to do the right thing…..Right?
And it’s easy to do the right thing when we gain something from it.

But what about when it isn’t easy or isn’t going to help us out?  What about if it might even cost us or be hard on us to do?  Then what?
Why Do The Right Thing Then?
Because we are Children of The King….bought with a price, covered in his blood, and that blood was to pay for all the wrong in this life.
That blood was to make things right.

Such a test came my way last weekend.  My husband and I had just returned from buying Yard And Garden supplies at Home Depot.  I was looking over the receipt, and realized the cashier made a mistake…..and it was a mistake in my favor.  Her error saved me about $90.  I immediately went over to the phone and called the store to make amends.  Why…..because without question, it was the honest and right thing to do.  My husband wholeheartedly agreed with my decision.  Did I do it for recognition….well, I doubt the cashier cared (no $ out of her pocket).  Did I do it for earthly gain….no, that cost me $90 bucks no one would ever have tried to claim from me.  Did I do it to earn brownie points with God or get into heaven….no, I don’t believe in works to earn salvation.   I simply did it for one reason and one reason only…..I knew that God would want me to do it.  I chose to do the right thing because it was the right thing to do.  That is how a Christian should honor the price that Christ paid on the Cross.  Even if it costs us, we should abide by His standards and walk in His integrity, and delight to do His will.  We are His representatives on this Earth.

I’m sure many might think me foolish and argue that the store could easily have absorbed the loss, or that I would be justified in keeping the product without paying for it because I was not the one who made the mistake.  But that is worldly thinking, and worldly standards that do not honor my God.
I will hold fast to what I was taught, and I will hold fast to passing on that standard to my children…YOU DO THE RIGHT THING BECAUSE IT IS THE RIGHT THING TO DO.

PRAYER FOR YOU:  May you honor God and the price paid on the Cross for your sins, by doing the right thing simply because it is the right thing to do.  May you seek His will about difficult situations where it is hard to know the right thing to do, and may you take comfort in God’s approval when you suffer for doing the right thing.  May you see it as an honor to honor Him.
Lizzie black

James 4:17 – Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth [it] not, to him it is sin.
Matthew 7:12 – Therefore all things whatsoever ye would that men should do to you, do ye even so to them: for this is the law and the prophets.
1 Corinthians 6:20 -For we are bought with a price, therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.

fffbutton_zps81cbecd6-1_zps4abb6b5bLivingWell

Image Above: Copyright (c) <a href=’http://www.123rf.com’>123RF Stock Photos</a>

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on April 8, 2013, in Living the Christian Life, Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Totally in agreement with this post. One time I felt God nudging me strongly to return an item to Walmart (a demo that was left in my CD player). I felt rather stupid returning it, but was obedient. I figured the clerk would laugh at me or make some comment, but she just handled the transaction as if it was an every day thing. It seemed like such a small thing, but maybe God was just testing my willingness to obey in the small stuff?

    • If He can trust us in the small things, He can trust us with bigger things. Sounds like the motive of your heart was to honor God, and that is a wonderful sign of the Holy Spirit at work.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

