Got Enemies?

Do you have enemies?14367432_s

Do you grow weary with the drama, the ridicule, the manipulations, the plots and slander that plague your life?   Do you have people that come against your marriage, your family, your goals and ambitions with the intent of harm and not good?

David had enemies too.  In fact, David had to spend a lot of time on the run and hiding because he was pursued with the intent of being killed.  Reflect on David’s attitude toward being hounded by the enemy in Psalm 27.
1. The LORD is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? the LORD is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? 2. When the wicked, even mine enemies and my foes, came upon me to eat up my flesh, they stumbled and fell. 3. Though an host should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear: though war should rise against me, in this I will be confident. 4. One thing have of desired of the LORD, that will I seek after; that I may dwell in the house of the LORD all the days of my life, to behold the beauty of the LORD, and to enquire in his temple. 5. For in the time of trouble he shall hide me in his pavilion: in the secret of his tabernacle shall he hide me; he shall set me upon a rock. 6. And now shall mine head be lifted up above mine enemies round about me: therefore will I offer in his tabernacle sacrifices of joy; I will sing, yea, I will sing praises unto the LORD. 7. Hear, O LORD, when I cry with my voice: have mercy also upon me, and answer me. 8. When thou saidst, Seek ye my face; my heart said unto thee, Thy face, LORD, will I seek. 9. Hide not thy face far from me; put not thy servant away in anger: thou has been my help; leave me not, neither forsake me, O God of my salvation. 10. When my father and my mother forsake me, then the LORD will take me up. 11. Teach me thy way, O LORD, and lead me in a plain path, because of mine enemies.  12 Deliver me not over unto the will of mine enemies: for false witnesses  are risen up against me, and such as breathe out cruelty. 13. I had fainted, unless I had believed to see the goodness of the LORD in the land of the living.   14. Wait on the LORD: be of good courage, and he shall strengthen thine heart: wait, I say, on the LORD.

David trusted that even if family/friends abandoned him, that God would always be there.  And he kept his focus on God.  He trusted in the goodness and timing of God.  He trusted that his patience and perseverance would be rewarded.

When our enemies come against us and do harm toward us, it is only natural to want to retaliate.  We think someone’s got to pay.  
And some one did!  Jesus paid the price for all sin ( past, present and future.)  Because God is holy, every unholy, wrong thing must be atoned for, and it will – either covered by the forgiving and cleansing blood of Jesus or in the purging fires of hell.
Because God is the One who holds the grand Scales of Justice, He is the one who should decide how and when that justice will be provided.  God has very specific instructions for the attitudes and actions we, as Christians should take toward our enemies.  We don’t know what purposes he is working in our lives in spite of our enemies, and we also don’t know how God might be using the testimony of our lives to bring about heart changes in our persecutors.

Scriptures About Enemies:
Romans 12:19 Do not take revenge, my friends, but leave room for God’s wrath, for it is written: “It is mine to avenge; I will repay,” says the Lord. (20) On the contrary: “If your enemy is hungry, feed him; if he is thirsty, give him something to drink. In doing this, you will heap burning coals on his head.”

Proverbs 24: 17 Do not gloat when your enemy falls; when he stumbles, do not let your heart rejoice, (18) or the LORD will see and disapprove and turn his wrath away from him.
Exodus 23:4   If you meet your enemy’s ox or his donkey going atray, you shall bring it back to him. 
Matthew 5:44   But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you,
Colossians 3:13  bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive.

It’s hard to endure the persecutions of our enemies, especially if we have to deal with them on a daily or frequent basis.  But God wants us put aside our egos and trust the outcomes to Him.  He wants us to focus on Him being glorified, and to trust in the sovereignty of his purposes working out in our lives.  Praying for our enemies is an act of putting things in the right perspective, and putting our egos on the altar so that God’s greater purposes will not be hindered.  We are also to show decency and kindness to our enemies when opportunity presents itself.

I once knew a counselor who had a woman come to him with depression because co-workers had plotted against her and caused her to lose her job.  The counselor encouraged her to do something kind and anonymous for them as an act of releasing her bitterness and ill intentions toward them, and trusting God to be in control. She chose to send them a basket of baked goods, and this was a step toward helping her move past this roadblock in her world, and to look for a better future.  She soon found a better job opportunity, and the ill meant toward her , actually worked out to bring her to a better place.  What these ladies meant as harm against her, God turned into a blessing.

Got Enemies?  Know what to do for them?
Pray for them.  Be kind and decent toward them, even when they are being mean and unkind to you.  Like David, you may have to remove yourself from harm’s way, but ultimately you have to trust the outcomes to God.  Be patient and trust in the goodness of God.  Let God show you how he can take what is meant for your harm and use it for his glory.

Prayer For You:  May God grow your trust in his sovereignty as you learn to put aside your own ego and leave the enemies to Him.  May God teach you to have a focus on heavenly things that overcomes earthly persecutions.  May what others mean as harm be transformed into God’s glory and blessing in your life.Lizzie black
Image Above:Copyright (c) <a href=’http://www.123rf.com’>123RF Stock Photos</a>

LivingWellfffbutton_zps81cbecd6-1_zps4abb6b5b

 

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on April 29, 2013, in Living the Christian Life, Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

