A Praying Mother

 Wisdom is……..taking all a Mother’s hopes, dreams, and cares to the Lord in Prayer.

14959112_s
I remember my mother’s prayers and they have always followed me. They have clung to me all my life. – Abraham Lincoln

I am currently reviewing the book Prayer Warrior Mom, and for many years I have prayed the prayers from Stormie Omartian’s Book The Power of a Praying Parent.

I truly believe that one of the most powerful things we can do as parents is pray for our children.  Let’s face it, we can’t control every aspect of our children’s lives and we can’t protect them from all the trials and tribulations of life.  We can’t go every where they go, and the time comes that we have to let go of being the mother that tells them what to do, when to come home, who to spend time with,  and what decisions to make.  But we do have a God who can take over and gaurd the hearts and lives of our loved ones.  When a loving, caring mother prayers for her children, I believe heaven opens wide to receive those prayers.

I have 2 daughters, ages 8 and 19.  As I watch the 19 year old reaching the age when she will soon leave the mother’s nest and be out on her own, it becomes even more clear to me how vital the early years are for instilling a personal relationship with God in our children’s lives.  She can’t take my faith with her when she leaves, and I have to hope that she builds her own.  How is a child to become a young adult who values prayer if they aren’t taught in the home that prayer is powerful and vital to the Christian life.  How do they know how to talk to God if they don’t hear you talk to God?  How do they know where to point their spiritual compass if they don’t know how to pray and seek God’s wisdom and direction for their lives?

This Mother’s Day, I hope that you will start or continue a vital duty as only a mother can….pray for your children daily and teach them to pray too!

PRAYER FOR YOU: May you be a mother who takes her love and care for her children to the Lord in prayer.  May you find comfort and peace in knowing that you have entrusted them to the care of the One who loves them with  unfailing, unconditional love.

Lizzie black

Image credit: <a href=’http://www.123rf.com/photo_14959112_mother-and-son-praying-and-praising-god.html’>yelo34 / 123RF Stock Photo</a>

LivingWellfffbutton_zps81cbecd6-1_zps4abb6b5b

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on May 10, 2013, in Wisdom and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You know, LIz, I didn’t think our faith life, which we gained when our youngest son was already in college and the other long married and moved away, had any effect on them until my husband had cancer a couple of years ago and Bryan brought his Bible to the hospital. I didn’t think he even knew where it was. You just never know.

  1. Pingback: Sometimes We Pray For Silver | Encouragement 4 Life

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

