Measuring Up

Wisdom is Realizing The God Given Value Of Being Uniquely YOU!15038359_s

“If I was the only one I wouldn’t be littler or bigger, would I? I’d be just me, wouldn’t I?”
 ― Fynn, Mister God, This Is Anna

It’s back to school time, and unfortunately, that also means the return of many children to an unfair world of comparison and peer pressure.  For those who are not considered one of the “in crowd” this can be a tough time, and the devil uses such opportunities to bring our children into the bondage of insecurity, and possibly even self-hate.  How do we help our children keep the right perspective on their value and keep their God -given potential from being tarnished?

1.Train them in God’s word and emphasize their value as God’s creation. 
Psalm 139:13-16 For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well. My frame was not hidden from you when I was made in the secret place. When I was woven together in the depths of the earth, your eyes saw my unformed body. All the days ordained for me were written in your book before one of them came to be.

2. Teach them that a Child of God has value because God has plans and purposes for their life.  This will help then focus more on the value of their contributions to this world rather than how they look, their popularity, etc.
Ephesians 2:10 For we are God’s workmanship, created in Christ Jesus to do good works, which God prepared in advance for us to do.
Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.

3. Comfort them with the knowledge that God values them enough to want an intimate relationship with them, and His emphasis is on the condition of their heart, not their outward appearance.
1 Samuel 16:7 But the LORD said to Samuel, “Do not consider his appearance or his height, for I have rejected him. The LORD does not look at the things man looks at. Man looks at the outward appearance, but the LORD looks at the heart.”
Psalm 139:1-4 O LORD, you have searched me and you know me. You know when I sit and when I rise; you perceive my thoughts from afar. You discern my going out and my lying down; you are familiar with all my ways. Before a word is on my tongue you know it completely, O LORD.

4. Emphasize that as a Child of God, their identity is awesome because it is in Christ, and the Spirit of God indwells them to empower them through all situations, even peer pressures.  God doesn’t need us to be perfect to accept us or use us for his glory.
1 Corinthians 3:16 Don’t you know that you yourselves are God’s temple and that God’s Spirit lives in you?
John 1:12 – Yet to all who received him, to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God. 
2 Corinthians 12:9 But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”

5. Talk to them about the pressures of the school age years.  It helps for them to know that you experienced those same pressures and can relate to what they are facing.  Explain that comparison is a wrong thing and that many children just need to grow up and mature, which takes times.  Help them see the comparison game as a weakness in others and encourage them to pray for children that do such things.  Give them hope, especially in high school, that the adult world is different from school, and they can have more control about what they surround themselves with. Encourage them to seek good friends who also understand God’s values and will be loving and nurturing.
2 Corinthians 10:12 When they measure themselves with themselves and compare themselves with one another, they are without understanding and behave unwisely.
Ephesians 4:32 Be kind and compassionate to one another, forgiving each other, just as in Christ God forgave you.

PRAYER FOR YOU:  May you model God’s love and acceptance to your children and help them seek His approval over man’s.  May you find healing for your own insecurities and past rejections as you focus on God’s value of you and your potential.
Lizzie black

Additional Reading:
Comparison Will Kill Your Joy Every Time: http://www.incourage.me/2012/04/comparison-will-kill-your-joy-every-time.html
Teaching Your Child About Peer Pressure: http://www.gonannies.com/blog/2012/teaching-your-child-about-peer-pressure/
The Sting of Rejection: http://www.todayschristianwoman.com/articles/2010/october/stingrejection.html
Back To School Prayer Tool:  http://rachelwojo.com/school-prayer-tool/?utm_content=bufferdf8ff&utm_source=buffer&utm_medium=twitter&utm_campaign=Buffer

Photo Above: Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on August 9, 2013, in Living the Christian Life, Parenting, Uncategorized, Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Lizzie, That was so beautiful and timely. School can be so difficult for many. I pray that parents (and teachers) are aware and talk to their children about who they are in God’s eyes. You were my neighbor at Faith Filled Friday. Kim

  2. Great article and Scriptures to encourage our children AND our grandchildren. Thanks for a lovely visit via Missional Women!

  3. Thanks for such a wonderful reminder of everything! It is a must need!

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

