Book Review: Downside Up

No one likes rejection, yet we have all experienced rejection’s unavoidable bitter sting._225_350_Book.880.cover
 In her book Downside Up, Tracey Mitchell offers a new perspective on rejection.  She suggests that rejection is a powerful tool that once conquered, can become “the greatest motivator in your life.”
Her book explores all the negative aspects of rejection and the damage that rejection can do to a wounded heart.  It exposes all the ways that unchecked rejection can fester, and warp our self-worth.  At a spiritual level she reveals how rejections taints the positive affirmations that Gods wants our identity to have.  Her encouragement: “to begin retraining your mind to think positive thoughts, to speak God’s Word, and to embrace His will for your life.”

The book details how to begin retraining your mind so that you can combat being prone to perfectionism or crippled by fear.  It teaches you how rejection can help you identify positive healthy relationships and protect yourself from abusive, manipulative relationships.  It also teaches you how to look beyond the negativity of circumstances and find positive outcomes.

I found the book interesting to read and it challenged my own interpretations of events and circumstances in my life.  It pointed me to the sovereignty of God and to trust in His ability to always be teaching me, molding me, and instructing me so that Christ might be reflected within my life.  I think all Christians struggle at times to keep their faith afloat in the midst of trials and difficulties, and rejection can be such a hard hurdle to overcome.  If you want to challenge and overcome your negative reactions to rejection, then this is a book worth reading.

 

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on September 30, 2013, in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

