My Words and Your Words Matter

I am human.  I have a tendency to say things I should not say.  Sometimes, it’s not what I say, but how I say it that inflicts the damage.
Today I am convicted as I realize that within my choice of words is the power to edify or destroy.4415345_s

Ephesians 4:29 Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers.

God has bestowed grace upon me.  I have been given a chance to bestow grace as well, HIS GRACE.
God wants my words to MINISTER.  When I minister, I help attend to the wants and NEEDS of others.

Has a person been harsh with you, or maybe even nasty?  What is the HUMAN reaction  to that kind of treatment?
It’s DEFENSIVENESS….being defensive means you are very eager to challenge or avoid criticism.  Your REACTIVE words are chosen to defend or protect your fragile EGO.

What is the EGO?. According to the dictionary,  It is a person’s sense of SELF-esteem or SELF-importance.  We all have an ego and we all are selfish because we are human, and born to the sin that comes from our selfishness. But if you are a Christian, then what is meant to boost your sense of importance and esteem?  It is your position IN CHRIST, and man’s words or actions towards you can never negate your value and worth AS HIS CHILD.

DAILY, we are asked to DIE TO SELF and let Christ be at the forefront of our decisions, actions, choices, and YES, EVEN OUR REACTIONS.  We can’t do that on our own.  We need his help to change the motives of our hearts.  Proverbs 16:1 – The preparations of the heart in man, and the answer of the tongue, [is] from the LORD.

I know first hand the destructive power of the tongue.…how it has caused pain, fear, insecurity, feelings of rejection and abandonment within my own life.  Do I really want to pass that on to my children, or my spouse?  Do I want to be the source of another’s hurt, pain, depression, loneliness, rejection.
NEWS FLASH:  Those who lash out at others have learned that behavior.  Who did they learn it from?  Odds are it was done to them and it’s the natural defensiveness of their own pain and misery that causes them to lash out at others.  Maybe I, and maybe you could plant a seed of healing that God could grow and blossom some day in another’s heart.  It often takes a lot of positive deposits, however, to overcome a negative heart.

How challenged I will be each and every day to master my selfish reactions to the stresses and injustices that come my way.  How I will need His strength to be angry and sin not,  to stand up for what is right and sin not,  to correct and discipline my children and sin not.   May my heart ever be mindful that the words I say affect my witness FOR HIM, and OF HIM.  The stronger my relationship and connection TO HIM, the more I will be able to put my selfishness in the back seat, and let God direct my emotions, my reactions…..my words.

Hope you will join me this year as I take a good long look at a very complex being……the HUMAN BEING.  God loves us with all our imperfections and hangups.  He wants nothing more that to help us overcome our failures, insecurities, and egos.  He wants to change and transform us into the image of Christ.  The more we understand the things that separate us from walking in HIS WILL and HIS PURPOSES, the more we can hand over to Him for transformation.

We can’t change others.  We can’t change ourselves….but GOD CAN.

PRAYER FOR YOU:  May you think about what you say, and how you say it.  May you trust in God to guide you with the right responses when others do you wrong or upset you.  May your words bring healing and not harm.

Lizzie blackPhoto Above: Copyright (c) 123RF Stock Photos

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on January 19, 2014, in The Human Factor and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

