Merlin’s Blade: A Book Review

Merlin’s Blade, written by Robert Treskillard, is the first in a trilogy series._225_350_Book.1021.cover  I usually don’t pick a fictional book as a Christian book review choice, but I found it to be a refreshing change. Being familiar with other Merlin accounts that I read as a child/teenager, I found that this story stayed true to many of the expected elements of tradition, but it also had enough originality to keep me wondering what would happen next.

The characters were many in this book, and sometimes I lost track of who was who, but most of the characters took on vivid personalities that were very believable and often complex.  The main character, Merlin, was easily connected to from the beginning as the reader becomes quickly acquainted with the tragedies of his sufferings and humble, yet courageous spirit. The setting took place in an ancient time where living conditions were harsh, and traumatic events including injury, suffering and death were common place.  The conflicts of right/wrong, good/evil, loyalty/betrayal, honor/power, and Christianity/pagan worship were woven throughout the plot and story development.  Although the style of the author is not necessarily easy reading, I found that at times I could become very engrossed in the reading and not want to put the book down at the end of a chapter.

This type of book genre is not for everyone, but if you enjoy historical and adventurous fiction, then this is sure to be an interesting series to follow.  I personally plan to read the remaining books, and look forward to more of Merlin.

 
Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze.com® <http://BookSneeze.com> book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on March 23, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

