Overcoming the Voice of Discouragement

Have you been listening to a voice of discouragement? 11882514_s Has that voice caused you to have doubts, fears, or worries that you didn’t have before? Has that voice dampened your enthusiasm and clarity of purpose?  Has that voice distracted you from hearing God’s voice speaking in your life?

I have set the LORD always before me. Because he is at my right hand, I will not be shaken.-Psalm 16:8

I started this blog in May 2011 and it was a source of great joy.  I made frequent, usually weekly entries, and  I stayed focused on my purpose.
My purpose was to glorify God and possibly be a tool that he could use to be a source of hope, learning and inspiration.  I purposed to not be concerned about how many comments or followers my blog received, but to just reach out for even one person that might be helped by my own personal walk and journey toward intimacy with God. The result:  God has richly blessed me with feeling connected to other bloggers, and these connections have mentored and inspired me.

But…..in the beginning of 2013, my entries became fewer and farther apart, and my enthusiasm to continue with this endeavor began to falter.  I even considered abandoning blogging all together.  What made the change….listening to one solitary voice of discouragement. You may think, How could I let one voice impact me so much?  Well, that one voice belonged to a person I have known all my life and a person who’s approval I have often longed for.  That person, embittered and angry, began attacking my character, my marriage, my family, and yes, even my blog.

And so I have been stumbling and faltering along, in a fog of discouragement and conflict, praying for God to help me gain my ground again, and then the answer came.
I was reading a book titled A Confident Heart by Renee Swope.  She made a reference to a choice we make to tune in to either an AM or FM thought frequency.Amfm3-en-de
AM represents the thought that are Against Me  
FM represents the thoughts that are For Me.

The truth of that analogy really registered with me, and I realized that I do indeed have a choice.  I can choose to change the dial of my thinking at any time, and refocus on the ONE TRUE VOICE of God.

God’s voice is NOT a voice of discouragement.  If I choose to abandon this endeavor of blogging, it should be because I feel that He is leading me in a different direction or purpose, and not because someone tries to criticize or discourage me.

And so with renewed purpose and hope, I wish to make a disclaimer about this blog.
This blog is about GRACE and GRIT for living life.
GRACE means God is the ONE AT WORK IN ME, and any benefit this blog may have to someone is because of HIM.  I am just a weak, imperfect vessel trying to stay focused and useful in some way for His purposes to be worked out in my life.  He doesn’t need me to be perfect to be of use to Him.
GRIT means I am going to stay FOCUSED ON HIM when life gets hard, and I am going TO LISTEN TO THE VOICE OF TRUTH.

Life is full of adversities, and discouragements, but Faith is holding on and staying the course in spite of life’s obstacles.  When the voices of discouragement fill your ears, recognize that these are AM thoughts (against me) and choose to tune in to FM thoughts (for me).  Surround yourself with people who encourage you, and seek God’s encouragement daily through His Word and prayer.

Prayer For You:  May you not be defeated by voices of discouragement, but keep your mind tuned in to God as a source of hope and encouragement.

Lizzie black

Additional Reading:
How To Encourage Yourself In The Lord  www.pneumafoundation.org/resources/articles/article_guest0005.pdf
Recognizing the Voice of God    http://powertochange.com/experience/spiritual-growth/voice-of-god/
Discouraged But Not Defeated  http://www.asonefellowship.com/daily-devotional/post/february-14–2014:-discouraged-but-not-defeated

 Credits: 1st Image: www.123rf.com,   Gif Image Above: by Berserkerus, via Wikipedia 

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on June 1, 2014, in Living the Christian Life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

