TRUST

TRUST is: firm belief in the reliability, truth, ability, or strength of someone or something.IMG_0072

If you have suffered through other people disappointing you, and not being consistently dependable, then you likely have trust issues.  I have trust issues.  In fact, I tend to be very private and non-disclosing until I really get opportunity to know that a person is trust worthy.  I also tend to just rely on myself- too much.  The problem with trusting in yourself is that you have limitations, and fears, and inadequacies.  You need other people.  God made you for relationship with others, and most importantly, He made you to be dependent on Him. God wants you to trust Him.  To move forward in the Christian faith, requires just that ….faith.  In fact, leaps of faith, and to leap in to the unknown requires trust in something/someone bigger than yourself….TRUST IN GOD!

Through the Bible we have examples of great men of faith who trusted God in big ways. Men like Abraham, Isaac, Joseph, David, Daniel. They line the Hall of Faith as icons of epic trust in God and close relationships with Him.  Sometimes, they seem bigger than life….but they were just humans, same as you and me.  Yes, humans who had to answer the same question.  Is God worthy of our trust?  Our actions show how we answer that question. We can choose to continue in our own self-reliance which is so limited, or we can choose to depend on and trust in God.   God calls us to that same standard of trust.  Only with that trust, can He do great things with our lives.
Consider Abraham: “He believed God, and it was credited to him as righteousness . Understand, then, that those who believe are children of Abraham.  The Scripture foresaw that God would justify the Gentiles by faith, and announced the gospel in advance to Abraham: “All nations will be blessed through you.”  So those who have faith are blessed along with Abraham, the man of faith. Galations 3:6-9 

Throughout the Bible God sends the same message to us over and over again.  Trust Me!  I am the only One who is worthy of your complete trust!  And oh the promises and blessings in store for those who trust Him!

“The LORD is my rock, and my fortress, and my deliverer; my God, my strength, in whom I will trust; my buckler, and the horn of my salvation, and my high tower.” Psalm 18:2
The LORD is good, a strong hold in the day of trouble; and he knoweth them that trust in him. ”  Nahum 1:7
“Every word of God is pure: he is a shield unto them that put their trust in him.”  Proverbs 30:5
And they that know thy name will put their trust in thee: for thou, LORD, hast not forsaken them that seek thee.”  Psalm 9:10
Commit thy way unto the LORD; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.”  Psalm 37:5 
“What time I am afraid, I will trust in thee. In God I will praise his word, in God I have put my trust; I will not fear what flesh can do unto me.” Psalm 56:3 , 4 
“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace, whose mind is stayed on thee: because he trusteth in thee.”  Isaiah 26:3 
For therefore we both labour and suffer reproach, because we trust in the living God, who is the Saviour of all men, specially of those that believe.”  1 Timothy 4:10 
“It is better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man.”  Psalm 118:8
“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding.”  Proverbs 3:5

PRAYER:  Oh Father, wrap your loving arms around me.  In Your Arms I find strength, protection, comfort, and hope.  You are the Creator of the Universe, and You created me because You love me and have purposes in mind for my life.  Each day, I may face trials, and struggles, and the uncertainty of the unknown. These challenges teach me to rely, not on myself, but on You.   I can give those fears, and worries, and anxieties over to You.   You are bigger than any circumstance, and You know all the details of my future.  You will be my guide, my provider, my loving Father.  You promise to never leave me alone but to walk with me, teaching me and enlightening me, molding and making me in to something new each day….in to the image of  your beloved son.  I want to live bigger, to have confidence, to take great leaps of faith into Your Perfect Plans for my life.

I hope you answer YES to the big question:  Is God trustworthy?   He is ready to take you on a grand adventure and just waiting on you to let go of your self-reliance so that He can be your everything!

http---signatures.mylivesignature.com-54492-265-6A0E91FAAA98A10B8E677D1E3201C9E8
Image Background: 123rf.com

About Grace and Grit

As a Christian, to live the abundant life, we all need a lot of grace and grit... LIVING LIFE AND LUV'N IT...as God's Child, Wife, Mother, Physical Therapist, Fitness Enthusiast, Avid Book And Blog Reader, and fan of Lighthearted Humor and Fun “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on August 30, 2015, in WORDs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.

