Surrounded by Buzzards

Wisdom is: Knowing How To Run off the Spiritual Buzzards Who Take Up Residence In Your Life
“The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid? When the wicked came against me to eat up my flesh, my enemies and foes, they stumbled and fell. Though an army should encamp against me, my heart shall not fear; though war should rise against me, in this I will be confident.” Psalm 27:1

This is a strange post, I admit.  But what faced my husband and I early this morning, was strange as well.  When we arose and the early morning fog was still lingering, we looked out of our windows to find ourselves surrounded by an intimidating gathering of buzzards.  Every where we looked, we saw a mix of turkey buzzards and black buzzards perched in our yard (front, back, and yes even a few on the roof of our home).
1426155_217534451760479_565200121_nWe counted at least 50 of these ominous birds, and it definitely placed our home place in the “eerie” category.  Even though the birds were no immediate threat to us or our pets, what they represented still made us eager to be rid of their presence.  As I looked up information on the internet about legal ways to deter these birds from making our yard their favorite new hangout, I couldn’t help but think about the spiritual comparisons:
Just like birds of prey, Satan looks for (spiritually) dead flesh to feed on.   Even though a Christian has no immediate threat from Satan in terms of their soul, they can still be hounded and stalked and harassed by the presence of Satan and his minions in their life.  Satan likes to surround us with worldly troubles and cares so that we feel that ominous, eerie depression of doom and gloom in our hearts, that takes our focus off of God.  He likes to invade in the cover of darkness, and continue to lurk around in the shadows and fog of our circumstances.  Once he finds a roosting place, he is not eager to go.

I learned a lot about getting rid of buzzards: Basically, make them uncomfortable in their new found perch place by using loud noises (ie fire crackers, gun shots), hang things in the trees such as shiny helium balloons and other items that make noise,  use water hoses and sprinkler systems that wet the branches of the trees, and my favorite – somehow find a dead buzzard and hang it in the tree for awhile).

In the Bible, we can find information about how to get rid of Satan and his spiritual oppressors in our lives:  Finally, my brethren, be strong in the Lord and in the power of His might. Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil. For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand. Stand therefore,having girded your waist with truth,having put on the breastplate of righteousness, and having shod your feet with the preparation of the gospel of peace; above all, taking the shield of faith with which you will be able to quench all the fiery darts of the wicked one. And take the helmet of salvation, and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God;  praying always with all prayer and supplication in the Spirit, being watchful to this end with all perseverance and supplication for all the saints — and for me… Ephesians 6:10-201462903_217534455093812_2057000565_n

Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you.  James 4:7

And don’t forget, that God surrounds us too with protection, and deliverance:  “The angel of the Lord encamps all around those who fear Him, and delivers them.” Psalm 34:7

PRAYER FOR YOU:  When you feel surrounded by the oppression of evil, may you seek your deliverer, the Lord.  May you be comforted by His presence and His protection over you.  May you find that He is very capable of overcoming anything that comes against you.

Lizzie black

About Becky Austin

As a Christian, my hope is to be ever teachable and to embrace all the ups and downs of life with God as my guide and my sustainer. “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” 2 Corinthians 12:9

Posted on November 17, 2013, in Wisdom and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Would graciously luv to hear from you.